News Detail
The new graphene nano-belt has been developed successfully, and its sensitivity is unprecedented!

A new study from the university of Nebraska, Nebraska, says that the DNA size of a carbon belt attached to a gas sensor can improve its sensitivity much better than any other known carbon material.

The team developed a new form of nano-tape made of graphene, a 2-dimensional honeycomb of carbon atoms. When researchers to integrate the nano foil membrane into gas sensor circuit, and the performance of the sensor, and even the best compared to carbon materials, it is about 100 times higher than that of sensitivity to the molecules.

"We have previously studied sensors based on other carbon-based materials, such as graphene and graphene oxide," said Alexander Sinitskii, an associate professor of chemistry in Nebraska. "In the case of the graphene nanometer, we're sure we'll see some sensor responses, but we didn't expect it to be higher than ever.

In a study published in the journal Nature, the researchers showed that the molecules of the gas could significantly alter the resistance of the nanoparticles. Different gases produce varying resistance characteristics that allow sensors to distinguish between them.

"There are multiple sensors on the chip and we can show that we can distinguish molecules that have almost the same chemical properties," said Sinitskii, a member of the Nebraska materials and nanoscience center. "For example, we can decompose methanol and ethanol, so these graphene-based sensors are not only sensitive but also selective.


This rendering shows that the gas molecules have widened the gap between the team's graphene nanobelts. Alexander sinisky, of Nebraska, and his colleagues suggest that this phenomenon partly explains how the nanoribbon provides an unprecedented sensitivity to sensors.

Sinitskii and his colleagues suspect that the apparent performance of the nanoribbons is partly due to the unusual interaction between the ribbon and the gas molecules. Unlike its predecessors, the team's nano-ribbon - similar to the line of Charlie brown's shirt stripes - is placed vertically instead of lying flat on the surface. The team suggested that the molecules could separate the lines, effectively extending the gap between the nanobands, and electrons had to jump to conduct electricity.

Graphene, which was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2004, has unparalleled conductivity. But the material lacks a gap - this requires electrons to gain energy before jumping from an atomic orbital to an external "guide band" that drives electrical conductivity - initially stopping the researchers from turning off the conductivity. This, in turn, poses a challenge to the application of graphene in the electronics of the electrical conductivity that requires adjustment of the material.

A potential solution is to trim the graphene sheet to a nanoscale ribbon, and computer simulations suggest an elusive band gap. Proving that be difficult to attract and retain the graphene related properties of atoms required for precision, so researchers from bottom to top through on certain types of solid surface strategically capture together to the molecules to make ribbon. Although the process is effective and the resulting ribbon does have a gap - it limits researchers to make some ribbons at a time.


Sensor chips can accommodate a team of graphene nano-coated nanofilms. Credit: university of nebraska-lincoln

In 2014, Sinitskii pioneered a method for large-scale production of nano-bands in liquid solutions, a key step in expanding the use of electronic applications. But the membranes made of these nano-belts are not enough for electrical measurements. The team's latest research is adapted to the original chemical method by adding a benzene ring to either side of the first nanoband - six carbon atoms and a ring of hydrogen atoms. These rings widen the ribbon, reducing the gap and improving its transmission capacity.

"People usually don't use graphene nanometers as sensor materials," Sinitskii said. "However, it is also good for the sensors to change the electrical conductivity by several orders of magnitude in the same way that nanobelts are beneficial to devices such as transistors.

"Can design many different kinds of graphene nanobelts with very different characteristics, so far, also only a few types have been proved, but for the chemist has not yet been synthesized ribbon has many interesting theory predicts that, so it is likely to develop in the near future with better sensors or other exciting features performance of new nanoscale.

Natural communication (2017) provides long extended atomic precision graphene nanobelts with enhanced conductivity.

Source: great coffee exploration.

新闻详情
新石墨烯纳米带研发成功,其灵敏度是前所未有的!

内布拉斯加州林肯大学的一项新研究称,将DNA大小的碳带固定在气体传感器上可以提高其灵敏度远远优于任何其他已知的碳材料。


该团队开发了一种由石墨烯制成的纳米带的新形式,石墨烯是碳原子的2维蜂窝体。当研究人员将纳米色带的薄膜集成到气体传感器的电路中时,与传感器甚至是最佳性能的碳基材料相比,它对分子的敏感度大约高出100倍。

内布拉斯加州化学副教授Alexander Sinitskii说:“我们以前研究过基于其他碳基材料的传感器,如石墨烯和氧化石墨烯。“在石墨烯纳米带的情况下,我们确信我们会看到一些传感器的响应,但是我们并没有想到它会比以往任何时候都高。

研究人员在Nature 杂志上发表研究结果,显示气体分子可以显着改变纳米带薄膜的电阻。不同的气体产生变化的电阻特征,允许传感器在它们之间进行区分。

内布拉斯加材料和纳米科学中心的成员Sinitskii说:“芯片上有多个传感器,我们能够证明我们可以区分几乎具有相同化学性质的分子。“例如,我们可以分解甲醇和乙醇,所以这些基于石墨烯纳米带的传感器不仅可以敏感,而且可以选择性。

这种渲染显示气体分子扩大了团队的石墨烯纳米带之间的差距。内布拉斯加州的亚历山大·辛尼斯基和他的同事们提出,这种现象部分解释了纳米色带如何给传感器提供了前所未有的灵敏度提升。

Sinitskii和他的同事怀疑,纳米丝带的显着性能部分来源于色带和气体分子之间的不寻常的相互作用。与其前辈不同,球队的纳米色带 - 类似于排列的查理·布朗的衬衫条纹 - 垂直放置,而不是平躺在表面上。该团队提出,气体分子可以将这些行分开,有效地延长了纳米带之间的间隙,电子必须跳过来传导电能。

石墨烯,其2004年发现最终获得诺贝尔奖,拥有无与伦比的导电性。但是材料缺乏带隙 - 这要求电子在从原子附近的轨道跳跃到驱动电导率的外部“导带”之前获得能量 - 最初阻止研究人员关闭导电性。这反过来又对在需要调节材料的电导率的电子学中应用石墨烯构成挑战。

一个潜在的解决方案是将石墨烯的片材修剪到纳米尺度的色带,计算机模拟建议将具有难以捉摸的带隙。这证明难以与保留使石墨烯吸引人的属性所需的原子精度相关,因此研究人员从下到上通过在某些类型的固体表面上战略性地将分子捕捉在一起来开始制作丝带。虽然这个过程是有效的,而且由此产生的色带确实有一个差距 - 它限制了研究人员一次制作一些丝带。

感应芯片可以容纳团队的石墨烯纳米带的纳米薄膜。信用:内布拉斯加大学林肯分校

2014年,Sinitskii开创了一种可以大规模生产液体溶液中的纳米色带的方法,这是扩大电子应用技术的关键一步。但是由这些纳米带制成的薄膜不足以进行电气测量。该团队的最新研究通过在第一代纳米带的任一侧添加苯环 - 具有六个碳原子和氢原子的环状分子来适应原始的化学方法。这些戒指加宽了色带,减少了带隙,提高了其传导能力。

Sinitskii说:“人们通常不会将石墨烯纳米带作为传感器材料。“然而,使纳米带对诸如晶体管等器件有好处的相同(性质) - 将电导率改变几个数量级的能力也是它们对传感器有好处的。

“可以设计出许多不同种类的具有非常不同特性的石墨烯纳米带,迄今为止,还只有少数类型已经被实验证明,但是对于化学家尚未合成的丝带来说有许多有趣的理论预言,所以它很可能将在不久的将来开发具有更好的传感器特性或其他令人兴奋的性能的新纳米带。

自然通信(2017)提供了长时间延长的原子精密石墨烯纳米带,具有加强的电导率。

来源:大咖探索。